I got this idea from a Whole Living article (25 Eco-Chic Ideas For Your Home) that was sent to me a few months back.  I knew right away I was going to have to give this a try.  It was very simple to make, inexpensive, and what better way to recycle your wine corks and put them to good use.  This definitely isn't your mother's trivet - or as my mother-in-law calls it - Hot Plate.  It will defitely be a conversation piece when you're cooking in your kitchen and put your hot pot on it to cool down.  Below, I've provided the instructions on how to make this little unique kitchen piece.

Materials:
60-65 uniformed sized corks
7 1/2  inch metal hose clamp (Plumbing section of Home Depot)

Instructions:
1. Stand corks upright and arrange them into a circle.
2. Surround corks with metal hose clamp. 
3. Tighten the clamp to bind the corks together.
4.  Trim the excess clamp with metal clippers.

Cost:
About $2.50 (price does not include the wine for the wine corks)  :)



Leave a Reply.